Africa: AU Commission Chairperson Appoints Chief of Staff and Deputy

7 Apr

ddis Ababa — The Chairperson of the African Union Commission Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma has appointed Ms. Jennifer Susan Chiriga and Amb Febe Potgieter-Gqubule as the new Chief of Staff and Deputy Chief of Staff respectively in the Bureau of the Chairperson.

Ms. Jennifer Chiriga takes over Amb Jean Baptiste Natama who resigned in February 2015. Acting Chief of Staff since March 2015, Ms. Chiriga was been the Deputy Chief of Staff since June 2014. Details of her Bio is below.

The new Deputy Chief of Staff, Amb. Febe Potgieter-Gqubule, has since October 2012 been Advisor for Strategy and Planning to the AU Commission Chairperson. Prior to joining the AU in 2012, she was South African Ambassador and Head of Mission to Poland. See details of her Bio below.

The appointments are in line with the Dr. Dlamini Zuma’s commitment to assertively promote women within the management of the AU Commission. Professional staff in the Bureau of the Chairperson is currently drawn from at least fourteen countries, including Angola, Benin, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Congo Brazzaville, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Mali, Mauritius, Nigeria, South Africa, Western Sahara, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: